Anything, not Everything

Here’s my quote for the day:

“You can do anything, but not everything.”

I found this quote in my Erin Condren planner from last year, and it made me think.

I put my mind to doing something, and I can achieve that goal most of the time.

I want to be an A student, the perfect wife making dinner and doing laundry and pinterest worthy home, a great dog mom and go on walks and adventures and teach new tricks, a traveler all over the US in my own vehicle, be financially dependent, the perfect child to my wonderful parents, a good Christian reading my Bible every day and attending church services and praying, please every person I meet (fellow students, clinical instructors, professors, family, friends, anyone).

I can try my best to do all these things all the time and never mess up, but that’s exhausting and there aren’t enough hours in the day.

  • It’s okay to not be an A student.
    • College is hard. Yes, I could probably spend all day every day studying, but then I would be ignoring people around me.
  • It’s okay to not be pinterest-perfect.
    • Laundry can pile up, the dogs might not know how to fetch a ball, and dinner might get burned.
  • It’s okay to daydream.
    • Dream about those wide open plains, those huge mountains, northern lights, and beaches. But also save up for those trips.
  • It’s okay to not please everyone.
    • Parents want to see you every weekend, parents-in-law want babies, friends need dinner once a week. You can’t make them all happy all the time without sacrificing your own “me time”
  • It’s okay to not go to church and pray every day (although you should try).
    • God will never turn His back on you.

There’s a lot of things that I can do and that I will do, but I can’t do everything and guess what? That’s okay.

Leave a Reply

